Purploids, and Pinkloids, and Bloops (oh my) – 3 Free Patterns

Created somewhat on whim and without excess thought, these are my three simplest patterns. If you’re a speedy yarner you can easily get all three done in one afternoon.

Oh My! - 3 free patterns by Karissa Cole

These were all actually prototypes, but they’re still fun stash buster projects. Enjoy! ( And as always feel free to contact with any questions; I will throughout this week be retesting all three patterns and instructions to make sure they work as they should, but if you find something that doesn’t make sense, just let me know :] )

S U G G E S T E D  M A T E R I A L S:

• Worsted weight yarn
• G/7 4.50MM crochet hook
• Two pairs of 8MM safety eyes (One pair for the Bloop, one for the Pinkloid) & One pair of 9mm eyes (Purploid)
• Scissors
• Needle & thread AND/OR Hot glue
• Fiberfill stuffing

A B B R E V I A T I O N S:

MC – magic circle (magic loop/magic ring)
sc – single crochet(s)
hdc – half-double crochet(s)
inc – increase
dec – decrease
sl st –  slip stitch
st(s) – stitch(es)
ch – chain
*actions in asterisks should be repeated until round completion or to the indicated stopping point in the round*
(number in parentheses indicates total number of stitches after round/row completion)
FO – fasten off
RND – Round
RW – Row
IBL – in back loops

P U R P L O I D  B A B Y  P A T T E R N

Purploid Baby Pattern by Karissa Cole

Often appearing out of nowhere, Purploids signal their startling arrival by staring intently at you – whether you know it or not. About a week ago I found this out, rather late at night. I soon realized this is just how they size a person up though. Once they’ve decided they like you they’re quite sweet, very protective and excellent sources of good advice. More people could do with a Purploid baby for a friend, but unfortunately so many people are too busy and serious they never even notice when a Purploid has come to visit them. Two Purploids showed up at my door yesterday after have been dejected and let me tell you, a sad Purploid is a heart-wrenching thing to witness.

Raise Purploid awareness: they have feelings too!

B O D Y (x1) (Follow this pattern for a baby Purploid [use 10mm eyes to really sell the itty bitty little one effect]. For a grown-up Purploid add a row between RNDs 7 & 8 and 11 & 12 and use the 9mm eyes.)

MC 6)
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *2sc, inc* (24)
RND 4-7) *sc* (24)
RND 8) *3sc, inc* (30)
RND 9) *4sc, inc* (36)
RND 10) *sc* (36)
RND 11) *4sc, dec* (30)
RND 12) *3sc, dec* (24)
RND 13) *2sc, dec* (18)
Attach eyes and antennae (to make antennae simply chain 4, cut yarn leaving long tail, and pull through. Attach to head and fray long yarn tail). Stuff.
RND 14) *sc, dec* (12)
RND 15) *dec* (6)
FO

 

***ALTERNATE*** Some pattern users have had trouble getting the Purploid shape to come out right. I’m not sure why this is, but I suspect there’s some difference in tensions and materials (I crochet very, very tightly sometimes >.<). Although I have not recently tested the following variation, for a shorter Purploid (such as the one pictured) you could try using this pattern instead:

MC 6)
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *2sc, inc* (24)
RND 4-5) *sc* (24)
RND 6) *3sc, inc* (30)
RND 7) *4sc, inc* (36)
RND 8) *sc* (36)
RND 9) *4sc, dec* (30)
RND 10) *3sc, dec* (24)
RND 11) *2sc, dec* (18)
Attach eyes and antennae (to make antennae simply chain 4, cut yarn leaving long tail, and pull through. Attach to head and fray long yarn tail). Stuff.
RND 12) *sc, dec* (12)
RND 13) *dec* (6)
FO

F E E T (x2)

MC 5
RND 1) *inc* (10)
RND 2-5) *sc* (10)
RND 6) *dec* (5)
FO

A R M S (x2)

(You may wish to try doubling your yarn for this, depending on the weight)
Ch 2
3 hdc in second ch from hook
FO
Attach to side of head

(For experienced ami makers I recommend simply picking up and crocheting this directly to the side of the head for that no-sew ease.)

I feel I should note these may not exactly look like “arms.” I’ve had ’em called gils or ears, but I figured arms was more descriptive for a pattern than “funny looking things on side of head.” :]

OPTIONAL:

The original Purploid was freeformed and gifted so this version is just slightly different. For instance, the first incarnation boasted a long tail with a pop-pom on the end. To make this for your Purploid: Ch 21, starting in second chain from hook sc 20; attach to body; make pop-pom (see Melvin post for brief written tutorial for pop-pom creation); attach pom to tail.

After you attach all the body parts (mainly the feet) your Purploid should be good to go!

P I N K L O I D  P O D L I N G  P A T T E R N

Pinkloid Podling Pattern by Karissa Cole 2

Pinkloid Podling Pattern by Karissa Cole

While most Pinkloids are pink (just as most Purploids are purple) this is not always the case. Red, orange, and even brown Pinkloids abound. Many people don’t realize this though, and usually assume Pinkloids are all pink. This is a common misconception, but Pinkloids tend to become very defensive about their color if they happen to exhibit a different hue than what their name suggests. I suppose this is why Pinkloids seem to relate to ladybugs quite well; ladybugs know all about being misjudged because of their name.

Still, Pinkloids don’t hold too much of a grudge. They’ll just brush it off and get straight back to work.

What is it Pinkloids do for work?

Well, they’re Word Sprites, of course. Have you ever been trying to say something, but you can’t find the right word, or it’s right on the tip of your tongue, you just can’t seem to get it out? Pinkloids are the ones who come along when this happens. They bring along the missing word and fling it into the conversation before it’s too late. Of course, occasionally a Pinkloid doesn’t make it in time, or perhaps they accidentally brought the wrong word, or maybe even too many Pinkloids converged at once and they all tried to use the word they each brought which causes things like “Haflapple” and “Splonge” to come tumbling out of a person’s mouth. But with all the people out there forgetting words – or worse, using the wrong words –  Pinkloids are kept very busy, so it’s no wonder they can’t always get it just right; they try their best though. And the funny thing is, thousands of people have encountered Pinkloids and didn’t even realize it.

To make your very own Pinkloid Podling:

B O D Y (x1)

MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *2sc, inc* (24)
RND 4) *3sc, inc* (30)
RND 5-9) *sc* (30)
RND 10) *3sc, dec* (24)
RND 11) *2sc, dec* (18)
RND 12) *sc, dec* (12)
Attach eyes. Stuff.
RND 13) *dec* (6)
FO

W I N G S (x2)
Worked back and  forth. Always start in second chain from hook.

Ch 6
RW 1) 5sc, turn, ch 1
RW 2) 5sc, turn, chain 5
RW 3) Including the 5 ch you just made and the 5sc you should be able to work 9sc in this row. So do that. Then turn and ch 1
RW 4) 9sc, turn, ch 4
RW 5) Working with the 9sc and the 4 ch, sc across (this should be 12 sts)
FO

With a contrasting color, crochet along the bottom edges of the wings. (I recommend going totally bananas with the color here; I only had pink on hand, but it’d be fun to make some really wild color combos here!)

F E E T (x2)

MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *2sc, inc* (16)
RND 3) *sc* (16)
RND 4) 6dec, 4sc (10)
RND 5) 3dec, 4sc (7)
RND 6-9) *sc* (7)
FO

A N T E N N A E (x2)

Ch 7
3hdc in second ch from hook
sl st in remainder of chains. cut yarn (leave long enough tail to sew to head).

See photos for suggested positioning and attach all the pieces. . . sort of like Mister Potato Head. . .

P O C K E T  B L O O P  P A T T E R N

Purploids are great to go to for advice, Pinkloids are masters of the Right Words, so what is it Bloops do, you may ask?

Typically they steal fresh laundry and try to nest in it.

Pocket Bloop Pattern by Karissa Cole

B O D Y (x1)

MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *2sc, inc* (24)
RND 4-6) *sc* (24)
RND 7) *3sc, inc* (30)
RND 8-9) *sc* (30)
RND 10) *3sc, dec* (24)
RND 11) *sc* (24)
RND 12) *IBL sc* (24)
RND 13) *2sc, dec* (18)
Attach eyes. Stuff.
RND 14) *sc, dec* (12)
RND 15) *dec* (6)
FO

F E E T (x2)

MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *IBL sc* (12)
FO

A N T E N N A E (x2)

Ch 10
RW 1) starting in second chain from hook, sc 9
FO

See photos for suggested positioning.

And there you go!

Simple though these are, they’re pretty fun and cute each in their own way.

**P L E A S E  N O T E** These are original designs and patterns. I believe in the free sharing of techniques and ideas. Please do not abuse my desire to share with others. You are not permitted to sell any products made as the result of these patterns (in part or in whole) and/or designs, nor are you permitted to sell the patterns or designs. Please, if you do use these patterns or designs, give credit where credit is due: direct others to this original posting so that they too can benefit.**

  1. Yay! They’re so cute! Thank you!

  2. Yay! Thanks for making these little guys available. I’m so excited. I love them all. and am looking forward to hooking them up. Not only a purploid baby, but a pinkloid podling and a pocket bloop too! They are just too cute.

    God bless and thanks again!

    • You’re most welcome! I’m very happy to provide and I’m especially happy when someone is able to enjoy them :)

  3. So simple yet so adorable, love them!

  4. Aha! Yes, quite adorable. I would like to have a Purploid to keep me company when I’m in those solemn moods of mine. I wish I had a Pinkloid so that I can write a blog and not mumble in conversation. And I need the three Bloops in my laundry basket to get out so that I may put it all away :P

  5. Ha! I love these. I’m pretty sure a swarm of Pinkloids follow me round because it seems like I forget words all the time only have to shout them out three sentences later…

    Thanks for the pattern share, and the kooky descriptions, proper made my chuckle :)

    • Thanks for your comment! I’m happy to share my kookiness :]
      (And sometimes I think the Pinkloid that follows me around falls asleep on the job. I’m always forgetting to say the right words ;)

  6. I just wanted to say, that you have an little mistace in your patterns, at the Pinkploid head:
    RND 5-9) *sc* (30)
    RND 10) *sc* (24)
    should’nt it say: RND 10) *3sc, dec*?

    • Linde
    • October 6th, 2012

    wow I love them!! So cute!! Going to make them now :D

    • Menwy Pace
    • November 30th, 2012

    Thank you for these wonderfully creative little creatures. My daughter will be receiving all three of them as presents for this holiday season. Hopefully they will help her in college, although I am not sure the pocket bloop will have anywhere to nest lol :)

    • You’re most welcome; I’m glad you like and I hope your daughter will also :]
      And I bet the bloop will figure out some alternative :D

    • Stella Woods
    • December 20th, 2012

    Hi! I just wanted to ask which technique you use to make the magic loop. I’m a beginner, so I’m not really good, consequently I decided to look up on youtube but there are about twelve different ways and I really wouldn’t know which one is the right one or which one to use.

    P.S.

    These patterns are great!

    • Hi there, Stella! Thank you for your query. I will soon be making a series of posts covering the way I make my amigurumi including the magic circle/loop technique I prefer. But the truth is almost any technique will do. This video for instance is similar to my method: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLuSVyKvoUg. Hope that helps. Be forewarned though: this kind of crochet can take a bit of practice to get just right! It took me a few tries to get things down straight. Best of luck and thanks again!

        • Anonymous
        • December 25th, 2012

        Got it thank you so much :)

  7. Oh my goodness! So cute! I have a friend that will most certainly be receiving some of these. She used to draw little creatures that closely resemble Bloops and Purploids, and she would definitely appreciate a red or brown Pinkloid. :)

  8. Hey! I’ve finished two of your tutorials. :) => http://hollywood-cerise.blogspot.be/2013/02/purploids-pinkloids.html Thank you for sharing them! x

  9. so so cute! I wish I could crochet.

    • Thanks! There are lots of help sites out there if you’re interested in learning how to crochet :]

    • Linda Hermans
    • May 12th, 2013

    Thank you for this cute patterns. I just made 2 orange pocket bloops (I hadn’t green yarn left) and my son adores them ;-)
    Thank you very much.

    Linda Hermans (Netherlands)

    • Hi Linda
      Happy to hear your son is enjoying the result of the pattern. Thanks! :)

    • Anonymous
    • July 21st, 2013

    Do you sl st after each rnd?

  10. I think I need a Pinkloid, because I’ve been forgetting words a ton lately. I love all of these creatures! So does my little sister, I might actually be making two Pinkloids. ;)

    • Anonymous
    • November 11th, 2013

    i was wondering if you could make a video or something on how to do your *adorable* designs… I am new to crocheting and so some of the terms are confusing to me. (Example: increase… I don’t know what that means or how to do it! :P) Thanks!

    • I may be able to make a video. In the meantime, a web search for amigurumi crochet tutorial videos ought to help out. For instance, increase means to add a stitch to your round. You do this by working two stitches in one. This YouTube video by KawaiiGurumi is nice and simple and shows how this is done: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMgw6omIA1c :)

        • Anonymous
        • November 11th, 2013

        Oh, okay! My sister helped me figure it out, so it’s all good! But you still might want to make a video for other patterns too

      • Good to hear! :D
        Since all the techniques used in my patterns are pretty common place, many videos already exist explaining the how-to processes, so making my own’s not a priority. But recent (and future) patterns have more step-by-step photos so that ought to help, too :)

        • Anonymous
        • November 12th, 2013

        That is true… :P Thanks again! I finished making a Bloop… I hid it in my dad’s laundry and he laughed! I’ll show you a picture later! :D

      • Sounds awesome! :D

    • Anonymous
    • November 11th, 2013

    Also, what does I(n) B(ack) L(oop) mean? (In back loop)

    • Working in the back loops only means simply to crochet in the back loop of a stitch. Normally, when you crochet, you insert your hook all the way through a stitch, through both loops. IBL means just insert your hook through the back part of the stitch.

      Try checking out this easy video by PlanetJune: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvpTMF2vNNc#t=46

      In my patterns, you work in the back loops only for one round to create a “turn” in the work.

      Hope this helps! :)

    • Anonymous
    • November 11th, 2013

    thanks! :P

    • Isabella
    • June 27th, 2014

    Oh my goodness! These are adorable! Any chance you have these patterns in PDF format? Thanks for the great idea!

    • Hi Isabella,
      Thanks so much! Glad you like :)
      Unfortunately I don’t have these in PDF format yet. Sorry about that.

  1. January 20th, 2013
  2. July 28th, 2013
  3. January 24th, 2014

Say something

Just Create & Scrap

love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Doodle Addicted

All drawings © Heidi Denney unless otherwise noted

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Free Amigurumi Patterns

Directory with Links to Free Crochet Patterns

Once Upon a Yarn

crafting & writing adventures

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

