Watercolor Works

I feel the need to be creative. Granted, this isn’t really a revelation or anything. But I think it’s become more apparent to me in the past few days. This is mostly because, although I don’t exactly have mounds upon mounds of free time sitting around collecting dust, my somewhat loose-knit schedule of late has led me to (re)discovering StumbleUpon – one of the best ways to use up free time while at the same time being one of the best sources of inspiration.

Most of my interests are settled around Arts, Crafts, Graphic Design, and Design. Every page brings me to new, crazy, amazing designs and creations. The one downside to this is that as I flip through each insanely creative Stumble after Stumble, I become more and more aware of how tiny the creative bit of my brain actually is. I’m so not that awesome and artistic. I’ve always been pretty good at mimicking things. But coming up with my own, fresh, unique ideas? Yeah, I totally suck at that.

Somehow, though, I did manage to come away from an hour of art & design surfing with a not exactly new but still completely usable idea. At one point I stumbled across this cool little watercolor-type image. I was in a stumbling groove, so I didn’t give it too much attention. But it got me thinking that it’d be neat if I could play around with some photos in Photoshop and give them with a watercolor effect. If I could, this would be especially gratifying since I cannot actually paint to save my life.

There are plenty of tutorials and actions out there, I’m sure, that deal with this. But I wanted to find my own simple, hands-on method. You know, getting as close to genuine painting without . . .  well, the genuine part. After a few minutes of playing around, this is the image I came up with:

The Flower (wc) by Karissa Cole 2012

I thought this was kind of neat, and really quick to do, so I kept playing with the idea. Here are some other pieces I ended up making:

Garden Flower Rain wc by Karissa Cole 2012 all rights reserved

Just to See (1) by Karissa Cole - all rights reserved

One Ocean wc by Karissa Cole 2012 all rights reserved

Color Me WC by Karissa Cole all rights reserved

It turned out to actually be a really easy technique. And it’s a great way to bring a bit of life to old pictures. Plus it was nice to create something that’s not a space-themed piece or a boring, yet cute, amigurumi critter. Not that I plan to stop making either of those things, of course.

Immersing myself in new types of art has been pretty invigorating. I don’t know if that euphoria will last, but for now I’m feeling pretty energized. There’s so much out there I can do and try. Why limit myself to just two things or even three, or four things?

Why limit creativity at all?

  1. November 23rd, 2012

Say something

Just Create & Scrap

love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Doodle Addicted

All drawings © Heidi Denney unless otherwise noted

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Free Amigurumi Patterns

Directory with Links to Free Crochet Patterns

Once Upon a Yarn

crafting & writing adventures

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

