Summer Wants You to Know

I have to admit, I pretty much wrote May off as a mental health month. Plagued with rainy days and gloomy thoughts, I felt anything but creative. But I figure it’s about time I resume spewing my occasionally nonsensical but always creative thoughts. Of course, I’m not entirely out of the funk I’ve been in. Not even close. There are some days where just trying to stop myself from destroying everything in my path wears me out, and there are other days when I just can’t stop crying. Today, though, is the kind of day that lies in a grey area. If I let myself think too much it will most assuredly result in one of the aforementioned mood swings, so I’m not thinking. I’m doing. Shopping, writing, redecorating, crocheting, and, earlier this afternoon, photographing. We’re experiencing a mighty strong heat wave in my area this weekend, and although the temperature tends to strip away any spring I might have in my step, the sunshine is definitely welcome, so today I decided to take advantage of the sun and went outside in search of some interesting things to shoot.

Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013

Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013 5 Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013 6

Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013 3 Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013 2 Summer'sHeat by Karissa Cole 2013 4

These were all taken right in my front yard, just shy of the street, and actually, just a few feet from the city’s bulldozer that’s been tearing up the street this past week. I like that you couldn’t tell that just by looking at these. Some of these pictures are their own little worlds. At least, that’s what I see.

 

  1. Great photos; it’s a good challenge to stay within the perimeter of your own home and try to find things to photograph. This post reminded me of a book that was quoted on NPR’s Science Friday yesterday called “The Forest Unseen: A Year’s Watch in Nature” by David G. Haskell. The guy watches the same one-square meter of forest for an entire year, and writes beautifully about the microcosmic world within it. Also, props on not hiding out in the A/C when it’s a bajillion degrees outside.

    • Many thanks :)
      I’d never heard of ‘The Forest Unseen’ before, but it sounds quite interesting. I might have to check it out.

  1. May 26th, 2014
    Trackback from : My Week in Review | ea1701

Say something

Just Create & Scrap

love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Free Amigurumi Patterns

Directory with Links to Free Crochet Patterns

Once Upon a Yarn

crafting & writing adventures

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

