Amigurumi Inventory Day

Today is Amigurumi Inventory Day! I totally just made that up. I have no shame.

1) Amigurumi Day - ea1701

So, somehow I got it into my head the other day that I should do a check on all the amigurumi and supplies I’ve got stuffed away in my craft closet. Every now and then it’s inevitable that if I want to find anything I have to go through and reorganize ever skein, hook, and all the other artisan materials I’ve got. But for some reason I thought it would be a good idea to make a list of what I’ve got and how much.

I now realize this was merely one of the first signs of complete brain atrophy from too much summer heat and not enough sun. (It’s been incredibly hot and humid here, but rainy, dark, and stormy. This I view as insult to injury.)

Still, earlier this evening I set about this impossible task anyway. This morning I had to put aside some time to work on completely updating and overhalling my resume. Now that that’s finished (and fully awesome, if I do say so), I’ve gotten myself knee deep in yarn and plushies. Now that I think of it, I suppose there are much worse things one could find themselves knee deep in…

2) Amigurumi Day - ea1701 3) Amigurumi Day - ea1701

I have to admit, this is a much bigger undertaking than I had thought. I am such a hoarder. I’ve got stuff in my closet spanning probably 10 years of craftiness. Although I tend to focus mainly on amigurumi, I’ve always been a bit of the artsy type, so I dabble in knitting, sewing, and jewelry making. There are drawers full of felt and fleece and fuzzy fabrics, buckets of wire and beads and cording, and bins full of measuring tapes, pins and needles. Not to mention of course the mounds upon mounds of yarn I own! It’s all pretty neat and tidy though. Thankfully I’m not a hoarder and a slob. There are special shelves for the yarn, hooks for the knitting needles, and all that. I’m typically a highly organized person. I just have a lot of stuff. But what can I say, the creative spirit just overpowers me sometimes :)

So, so far my totals are:
• 50+ crocheted Amigurumi (not including the ones that’ve been sold or gifted)
• 25+ skeins of worsted weight yarn, assorted colors,
• 11+ balls of worsted weight yarn, assorted colors
• 13+ skeins/balls of novelty yarn or wool
• 28+ pieces of craft felt
• 15+ crochet hooks
• 12+ pairs of knitting needles (including several sets of double pointed needles)
• 2 cases of pony beads (a gift that I’ve been trying to find uses for for the past 8 years xD)
• About 150 pairs of safety eyes, assorted sizes
• 3 pairs of scissors
• 2 yarn needles
• 50 jump rings
• 10 spools of wire
• various pendants, charms, and beads
• 4 sheets of fleece
• 2 sheets of fuzzy novelty fabric
• 7+ pattern books

4) Amigurumi Day - ea1701 5) Amigurumi Day - ea1701

Believe it or not, this is just the beginning. I’ve got mini stashes of crafty supplies hidden throughout the house. And every drawer I open I seem to find more and more stuff I didn’t realize was there. Plus, since drawing was my first love, I’ve got drawing supplies: pens, pencils, markers, drawing books, sketch pads. I’m beginning to wonder if there’s a crafters’ anonymous I should go to :)

Crayons will never go out of style...

Crayons will never go out of style…

I’ve been at this for about two hours or so now. I can only tell it’s been that long because the sun has set and it’s getting quite dark out. Pretty soon I’ll have to turn the music down, to avoid bothering the neighbors. If I haven’t mentioned it before, I love my music, and I have a stereo system so awesome you can feel the music vibrate the walls and hear it from down the street. Tonight I’ve been listening to my Completely Random Oldies Playlist: Chesney Hawkes, Peter Gabriel, Bryan Adams, Soft Cell, Information Society, the Lovin’ Spoonful, The Monkees, .38 Special, The Tubes, Bruce Springsteen, the Traveling Wilburys… I know it’s a totally subjective thing, but I very much think good music makes everything better.

Anyway. In addition to the supplies inventory, I’ve finally gone ahead and done up an ideas inventory, a to-do list that’s been long overdo.

• Dinosaur amigurumi (current WIP)
• the Chocolate Milk Cow (story and amigurumi pattern)
• “Not a morning person” digital illustration
• Nebula space paintings
• the Sad Cephalopod pattern (etsy store!)
• the Day of the Octopuses (free pattern and story)
• Previous pattern updates
• “Talking to myself” digital illustration

These are some of the long-term and short-term projects, crafty or otherwise, I’ve been thinking about doing. Now that I’ve got them written down, I think the lure of being able to cross them off will be a new source of motivation and inspiration.

Overall life has not been altogether pleasant lately, but I’m doing my best to fill this summer with all the good things I can think of. With all the scifi, amigurumi, painting, anime, music, crafting, and drawing I’ve managed to work in already, I think I’m doing pretty well so far :)

    • Angela
    • June 29th, 2013

    Wow! You’re almost as bad as me LOL I have so much craft stuff I had to put it in a room within ceiling to floor shelves, and its still a mess…it’s a work in progress.I do all the same things that you do…but sewing is my main love. Sorry things have been rough for you lately 😒
    Please hurry with the dinosaur cus my grandson wants one! Haha

    • Wow, that sounds like a lot of craft stuff! Most of my materials are relegated to one small closet, but every year I seem to have just a little less free space than I did before…That’s awesome, that you love sewing. I’d love to do more of that..And thanks for your support :)

      The dinosaur should be done soon, but I’m afraid he won’t be offered as a pattern :( If you’re looking for an amigurumi dino pattern though, this guy I saw on etsy is really cute! http://www.etsy.com/listing/126495488/crochet-pattern-timothy-the-t-rex?ref=shop_home_active

      Thanks again for your comment!

  1. We are getting ready to move and I just opened the door to my craft closet… Yikes. I have drawers stuffed with drawing supplies, crochet hooks and yarn, blank cards, oodles of unused fabric and beads, etc. pouring out of there! As organized as I am, I fully understand how it can creep up on you and slowly take over the house! Looking forward to the new patterns; I am especially fond of the octopus!

    • It can indeed! I didn’t realize until recently how sneakily craft materials can take over the house.. I hope to be able to release the octopus pattern within the next couple of weeks :D

  2. Hmm…why does this sound familiar?…Oh yeah! My house is the same way :D…. except way less organized :P It’s all just all over the place :) Good luck on the inventory and I can’t wait to see the octopus :) I’m always on the look out for patterns of cute ones :D

    • Thanks! The octopus pattern will be super simple, but hopefully it comes out as cute as it looks in my head :D

      • I’m sure it will :) All your stuff looks amazingly adorable :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Say something

Just Create & Scrap

love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Doodle Addicted

All drawings © Heidi Denney unless otherwise noted

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Free Amigurumi Patterns

Directory with Links to Free Crochet Patterns

Once Upon a Yarn

crafting & writing adventures

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

