For the Love of the Intelligent Sea Potatoes

Huzzah!

When I wrote my last post at the beginning of the month, I sort of recapped my activities of late and also hinted at a new amigurumi design I was working on. At the time of that post the design was very nearly finished, but since then I’ve been running around so crazy busy I haven’t had the chance to sit down and tie up all the loose ends (quite literally). This past weekend, mostly today really, I’ve been flat-out fried with a nightmarish cold (hoo-ray). We just had our 3rd or, I don’t know, 17th huge snowstorm (I’m losing track-also, I can’t see my mailbox anymore), so it’s no real surprise that I got slammed with what I’m pretty sure at this point must be a new plague. Seriously. I think I’m dying. It hurts to breathe. It should not hurt to breathe. Today’s been especially rough which has lead me to the discovery that I make a pretty lousy sick person. I cannot sit still. Thankfully I was off work today but this morning despite feeling like death I was hustling around the house trying to get stuff done. Eventually my head hurt so much and I got so dizzy every time I turned around I nearly fell over. I took that as a hint to put my things away and curl up in my chair, under my blanket and just watch TV (which, incidentally, I really haven’t done in a while). So far that’s really the only big upside to being sick: permission to sit around and watch television. That, and the really pretty orange tissue box I’ve got. Only, that’s really not that much of an upside since I have to use the damn thing every thirty seconds or so. One more sneeze and I think I’m going to cause brain damage. Anyway, long and completely TMI story short, thanks to being sick I finally had the chance to finish my latest crochet cutie.

Ta-da:

Manatee 2 by Karissa Cole 2014 Manatee by Karissa Cole 2014

In case it’s not already obvious this is my mini manatee amigurumi. I visited Seaworld last month and for some reason instantly fell in love with the manatees. How can something that looks just like a giant floating rock be SO DARN CUTE? I quite literally ran into the first shop I could to get my own mini sea cow to tote around (I’m such a kid at heart.) Honestly though, from the first moment I saw a manatee I was head over heals in like with these massive but marvelous creatures. Naturally I had to design an amigurumi after this one of my favorite marine animals. This cutie is my prototype, Phillip. He’s been sitting on my shelf just waiting for me to sew him up for the past two weeks. Pretty sad it took being home sick to get me to finally do it. I’m glad I did of course. This evening I put on some Stargate (LOVE that show) and sewed this little guy up. I think he actually came out pretty well. The photos don’t do him justice.

I’ve already had a request to make one or two more of these little fellas. My mother works as a secretary for a local school. She has a few of my amigurumi designs keeping her company at work around her desk. Apparently a student and his teacher caught sight of one of the penguins I’d made for her and the student just fell in love with it. The teacher asked if I would make some for her class, as rewards that could be given out for good behavior. (I said yes of course.) When she heard I was currently working on a manatee she said the students would probably love that too. So, (once I get a few more penguins done up) I’ll have the perfect chance to test out my pattern for clarity before I release it. Yay :D

 

 

{manatee photograph header courtesy of www.huffingtonpost.com}

 

 

  1. That is seriously cute!!

  2. Huzzah!
    I say that a lot! Glad to hear it coming from someone else. It’s contagious! Super cute pattern…Good to see you are still devoted to amigurumi!

  3. I’d love to have the pattern for this cutie!
    Congratulations!

    • Kylie
    • March 25th, 2015

    Could you make a written pattern to this one please is so cute!

    • AKC
    • March 26th, 2015

    Hi – love this! would you be able to share your pattern?

  1. February 26th, 2014
    Trackback from : CUTENESS ALERT | ea1701
  2. April 14th, 2014
    Trackback from : Ducks in a Row | ea1701

Say something

justcreateandscrap.wordpress.com/

Love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Doodle Addicted

All drawings © Heidi Denney unless otherwise noted

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

Awkward Soul Designs

Knitting, Crochet & Amigurumi Patterns