Ducks in a Row

A little while back my mum asked me to make her an amigurumi duck. I, not being one to shy away from a creative challenge, gladly rose to the occasion. Not wanting to make just any old duck for her I decided to do something special. Naturally the first thing that came to mind was a superhero duck. And so, SUPER PLACEBO DUCK was born (complete with mild-mannered alter ego):

SUPER PLACEBO DUCK

Mild-mannered alter ego

(Font from dafont.com. Please forgive the lameoid pictures.)

Don’t asked me why I decided to name him Placebo Duck. For once, there was no logic behind my madness. Anyway, my mum, she absolutely loved her duck. I even gave her a list of his super powers and weakness, just in case she needed to know someday. Super Placebo Duck’s super powers include: Flight (has not figured out landing yet, though); Bread Vision (can turn anything into bread with his crusty gaze!); Super Duck Strength (7 times the strength of a normal cape-less duck); and Witty Comebacks (self-explanatory.) His only weakness: Pears.

Originally she had wanted a duck  for her desk at work, but once she saw SPD she decided to keep him home. Unfortunately, one of the other amis I had made for her, a little blue penguin, was recently stolen and she was afraid that would be the fate of this little guy. So for now Super Placebo Duck is safe in his lair, keeping an eye on those nasty super villains roaming the city streets, waiting to make his move…

With ducks on the brain (and just a touch of crazy) I thought it might be nice if I offered up a new free pattern. So I set out to make a little crochet cutie I could share with you all. And thus we have, Filbert!

Filbert 2014 1

Filbert, Super Placebo Duck’s younger cousin, doesn’t have any ducky super powers, unless you count the power of his cuteness.

Here’s how to make your own baby duck:

S U G G E S T E D M A T E R I A L S
• Small amounts of worsted weight yarn in two colors (main color for head, wings, tail; secondary color for beak and feet)
• G/7 4.50MM crochet hook
• One (1) pair of 6MM safety eyes
• Scissors
• Needle & thread
• Fiberfill stuffing

A B B R E V I A T I O N S (U.S.)
MC – magic circle (magic loop/magic ring)
RND – Round
sc – single crochet(s)
inc – increase
ibl – in back loops only
dec – decrease
ch – chain
hdc – half double crochet
dc – double crochet
trc – triple crochet
sl slt – slip stitch
*actions in asterisks should be repeated until round completion or to the indicated stopping point in the round*
(number in parentheses indicates total number of stitches after round/row completion)
FO – fasten off

This little duckling is pretty tiny. Finished size is just a few inches tall (so he crochets up super quick!). Given its size, it is not suggested that this toy be given to any very little ones.

Please contact me if you have any questions, or if you find any goofs :D

T H E  P A T T E R N

H E A D (x1)

MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *2sc, inc* (24)
RNDs 4-9) *sc*
RND 10) *sc, dec* (16)
FO

B O D Y (x1)
MC 6
RND 1) *inc* (12)
RND 2) *sc, inc* (18)
RND 3) *ibl sc* (18)
RND 4) *2sc, inc* (24)
RNDs 5-7) *sc* (24)
RND 8) *2sc, dec* (18)
RND 9) *sc* (18)
FO

W I N G S (x2)
Chain 6, plus 1 for turning (chain 7 total). Make a single crochet in the second chain from hook. Next work two hdc, one after another. After that work one dc, one trc, and finally a hdc in the last stitch. FO. You should now have a sort of triangular piece of fabric. The thicker end (with the yarn tails hanging off it) will be sewn to the body. (Therefore, the smaller end opposite that is the bottom of the wing.) For a visual of this kind of technique check out my Confused Owl pattern.

B E A K (x1)
The beak is super simple. What we need to do is create a magic circle. Instead of working single crochets in our circle, though, we’re going to make half-double crochets. So to start make your magic circle. Slip stitch once. Then work 5 hdcs. Slip stitch once more, then fasten off. Don’t completely pull the yarn tail (thus closing the circle.) Just pull the yarn tail enough to make the beak look like a semi-circle. There’s your beak! You can sew it right to the head, weaving in the ends. You can attach your eyes after sewing the beak.

F E E T (x2)
The feet are made just the same as the beak, only instead of 5 hdcs, just work 3. Sew ’em to the body and weave in ends.

T A I L (x1)
The tail, as you might’ve maybe guessed, is worked just like the beak and feet. The difference this time is this: instead of working 5 hdsc, work 5 dcs. That’s it! Fasten off, sew it on your duck’s booty and weave in ends.

Okie doke. So here’s a top view of all the pieces you ought to have:

Flibert IN PIECES OMG

I had already sewn the beak to the head in this photo. Also, sorry for no sewing pics. I loathe the sewing part of amigurumi making, so I can’t really offer any useful tips or whatnot. I just fight and argue with my needle and thread until I say screw it, it’s good enough :P

Go ahead and sew everything where it needs to be, stuff the head and the body, and then sew those two together. Weave in ends and there’s you oh so adorable mini duck.

Please note: This is an original design and pattern. I do not grant permission to anyone to sell any products made as the result of this pattern and/or design. Please, if you do use this pattern or design direct others to this original posting so that they too can enjoy the super ducky cuteness.

I almost forgot: Some have asked if I’ll be posting the pattern for my manatee. Happy to say I do hope to release it sometime this spring/summer :)

____________________________________________________________

Like this post? Check out these other cute amigurumi patterns available from ea1701:

 Squid! the Confused Owl promo by Karissa ColeMelvin the Misunderstood Monster [Free Pattern] by Karissa Cole

For a full list of amigurumi-related posts visit the amigurumi page. Have fun!

    • Metal
    • April 15th, 2014

    So super cute!!!

    • Anonymous
    • May 4th, 2014

    OMG soooooo adorable!! MUST MAKE A WHOLE ARMY OF THEM!!

    Do you have any patterns for like a bunny or a dog or stuff like that? Thanks!

    • ^^ Glad you like!
      Sadly I don’t have a dog pattern (yet!) But I will be releasing a bunny pattern sometime this summer :D

  1. Do you happen to have the pattern for the tie? I’m terrible at figuring that stuff out on my own. Lol. My step daughter wants the tie made. haha.

    • Hi Hollyanne,
      Actually, there’s no real pattern for the tie; it’s just a long, narrow strip of felt. I used a black permanent marker to draw stripes on it, and then tied a Windsor knot right around the duck :)

  2. Holy adorables! Thank you so much for sharing – I’ve been looking for a pattern for my first Little Yellow Duck Project duckling, and I think I found it! And by the way, OMG, those glasses on Super Placebo Duck’s mild mannered alter ego? SUPER CUTE!

  3. Thanks for sharing such a fastidious idea, paragraph
    is fastidious, thats why i have read it fully

    • Penny
    • January 25th, 2015

    Super Super Cute. Just couldn’t resist :)

    Thanks for sharing~
    My rendition here:
    http://cuteyamigurumi.blogspot.com.au/2015/01/crochet-duck-amigurumi.html

  1. September 22nd, 2014

Say something

justcreateandscrap.wordpress.com/

Love, imagine, create, scrap, live.

Jee's Studio

Passionnée de scrapbooking, retrouvez ici mes créations ;)

Doodle Addicted

All drawings © Heidi Denney unless otherwise noted

Watercolor Journal

... a place for people with a passion for art

The Poetic Monster

Just a Few Words From a Shy Beast

L&K's Creative Threads

Distinctive Children's Clothing and More

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

[ One Velvet Morning ]

Project Life Freebies, Printables & Digital Scrapbooking Templates

Awesome Wallpapers

Hand-Picked, High-Quality Widescreen Walls

ea1701

art and design (and other stuff, too)

Karissa Cole Design Portfolio

I have a brain and I'm not afraid to use it

Awkward Soul Designs

Knitting, Crochet & Amigurumi Patterns